Board of Directors

President – Megan Evans

Megan currently works as an Ecologist with Alberta Parks. She is a former board member for the Entomological Society of Alberta and the Alberta Invasive Species Council. She is the founding President of the Alberta Native Bee Council.

Vice President – Connor Nelson

Connor is an MSc candidate in the Department of Renewable Resources at the University of Alberta. His studies are focused on the impacts of linear disturbances on insect pollinator communities in the Boreal forests of Northeastern Alberta. He has a BSc in Integrated Science from McMaster University and has been working with insects since early in his undergrad. When he's not in the lab or the field, Connor spends his time volunteering for the Royal Alberta Museum's bug gallery, hiking, and rock climbing.

Secretary – Lisa Naeme

Lisa is currently a Biodiversity Specialist with Alberta Environment and Parks. Her graduate work at Simon Fraser University focused on pollinator diversity and pollination services in natural and agricultural ecosystems. 

Treasurer – Caroline Whitehouse

Caroline is a forest entomologist, chicken herder and drinker of fermented things. Lola the dog, though sometimes skeptical, supports her human in these endeavours.

Director – Courtney Hughes

Courtney Hughes is the Biodiversity and Landscape Specialist with Alberta Environment (AEP) and Parks in the Peace Region. She has extensive experience in collaborative conservation planning, policy design and analysis, fieldwork, and citizen science and environmental education. Courtney works locally on projects with many different species including native bees, bats, and grizzly bears. Additionally, Courtney has been a visiting tutor to Oxford’s WildCRU program since 2011, and collaborates on different international projects across Tanzania, Cameroon and Belize.

Director – Luke Wonneck

Luke works as Agroforestry Specialist for the Agroforestry and Woodlot Extension Society, assisting landowners across Alberta with the integration of forested habitat into agricultural landscapes. Luke has a MSc in Environmental Policy from the University of Oxford, and a BSc in Environmental Science from the University of Calgary.

Director – Brad Jones

Brad is a forest health biologist by training, but finds himself a bureaucrat working for the provincial government these days. His interest in insects, invasive species, and species at risk made joining the Board an easy decision. 

Director – Charity Briere